mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

3 Rules for School

Posted by Jason on November 18, 2008

So I got really really frustrated with a group of my students one day, and I couldn’t stand how rude and dumb and clueless they were being. I told them that all they had to do were 3 things and they would pass high school quite easily:

  1. Shut Up
  2. Pay Attention
  3. Follow Directions

With 6th graders I might change the first one to “Be Quiet” but 8th graders can handle it. I told the kids that they don’t even have to be that smart and they can breeze through middle school and high school by doing those 3 things. The way schools coddle/enable children these days (and I know because I’m part of the system), you really don’t have to be smart to succeed. To graduate college, yeah, you need some intelligence…well either that or ambition, to succeed. But high school?

No way…just shut up, pay attention, and follow directions.

Any agreement/disagreement???

Leave a Reply

 
