mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

I’m so disappointed…

Posted by Jason on November 24, 2008

…not so much in my lame-ass San Diego Chargers, but rather in myself. It’s not that my lack of faith brings the fan-power down and makes my teams consistently FAIL. I have plenty of faith, every year, but it’s not anything voodoo like that. What really pisses me off is that I allow myself to get so emotionally invested in my teams, even though I know they will always let me and the rest of San Diego down. Really, the only professional sports teams that have ever won a national championship are now gone. RIP San Diego Gulls and San Diego Soccers… you brought us some glory, and I thank you for that.

Now I’m an intelligent, educated human being (don’t aslk to my wife about this). Why haven’t I learned to emotionally detach myself and just enjoy watching sports for the entertainment value? I feel awful that I get into this foul, bitchy, zombie mood whenever the Chargers lose. I got over the Padres real quick: I just stopped watching in May.

I guess that’s what happens during depression… you feel depressed, then you get upset because you’re so depressed, and so on and so on. Well, at least I know that my woes will end in January sometime.

I’m so disappointed in myself.

2 Responses to “I’m so disappointed…”

  1. What really pisses me off is that I allow myself to get so emotionally invested in my teams,

    such is human nature

    even though I know they will always let me and the rest of San Diego down.

    “We must reconcile ourselves to the necessary imperfectibility of existence…We will cease to be so angry once we cease to be so hopeful” (85).

    — “The Consolations of Philosophy” by Alain de Botton

  2. Kristen said

    self-infliction. i tried to warn you 😉

Leave a Reply

 
