mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

Book Review: Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories

Posted by Jason on November 25, 2008

 

Woman Hollering Creek

Woman Hollering Creek by Sandra Cisneros

I finally finished Sandra Cisneros’ short story collection. I was surprised that it took me a few weeks to read, since it’s only about 200 pages long. For some reason, I just could not get rolling with this book. It’s a collection of short stories by the acclaimed writer and poet, mostly set in the Latino areas of San Antonio, Texas, that I thought would rock my world like House on Mango Street or My Wicked, Wicked Ways. 

Cisneros does some wonderful descriptive work. She can paint beautiful, heartbreaking pictures with flashy yet terse brushstrokes that really open up her world to the reader. That said, she didn’t do a great job with narration in this book. Even though they are all different stories, very little was moving in the collection. By moving I’m talking about progression of story, not so much action or adventure. There were some amazing vignettes and character portrayals, but I rarely felt like I cared about what happened to any of those characters. It seemed like the author just cleaned out her writing closet and donated all the scraps to the publisher to meet a deadline or something. 

Overall, Woman Hollering Creek was a disappointment. It does have some worthiness as a style portfolio in which we can see all of the techniques Cisneros uses, but apart from that this book is most definitely NOT a must-read.

4 Responses to “Book Review: Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories”

  1. sahar009 said

    Maybe it took you that long to read it because it was terrible… Thank you for the review!

    ____________________

    http://saharsblog.wordpress.com

  2. see page said

    Hey are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.

    Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  3. You made some really good points there. I checked
    on the internet to learn more about the issue and found most
    individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  4. Gino said

    I’m extremely inspired together with your writing skills and also with the format for your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s
    rare to peer a nice blog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

 
