mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

Bottom Line it For Me! – Bizet’s “Carmen”

Posted by Jason on December 5, 2008

So I decided to force one of my classes to watch a DVD of the classic opera Carmen by Bizet. They can’t read the subtitles very well and they certainly can’t understand the French, so I’m being a good teacher and helping the kids through the plot. I thought to myself today, “Dang, how simple do I need to make this thing?”

Here goes, my best, brief synopsis of Carmen:

Soldier falls in love with gypsy woman. Gypsy woman falls in love with bullfighter. Soldier kills gypsy woman.

Baddabing, baddaboom. Any questions?

More operas and literary works to follow. If you have a certain opera or book in mind, let me know…

Leave a Reply

 
