mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

Alphainventions=tagsurfer on crack!

Posted by Jason on December 10, 2008

So somehow, this site/blog called alphainventions.com found my blog. I noticed that like 8 people got to my site from there like the first half hour or so since it popped up. I clicked on the link just to see who was linking to me, and it was nuts. All these blogs started cycling through the site every couple seconds and I had no clue what I was looking at at first. 

I finally figured out how to pause the cycling and then checked the about section to see what the deal was. Apparently it’s a site that works just like tag surfer or readomattic on WordPress.com, but it shows you the blogs without you even having to scroll through them. It’s a little hectic at first, but this thing does wonders for generating traffic. It’s given me like 40 hits in 2 hours, which is beyond good for my young blog.

I don’t think it’s a scam, but I do wonder about it. Does it register a view every time my screen cycles onto someone’s screen? Does it give preference to people to link to it? Is it really helping provide quality viewing of my blog? Is this the new cool thing, or old hat that’s going to get shut down in a week? Do I need to post like crazy for this thing to work? Do I give a crap as long as my counter goes crazy? All of these questions… I’ll look into it more tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Alphainventions=tagsurfer on crack!”

  1. arkangel3 said

    Dude…my hit counter has gone CRAZY since I started using Alpha Inventions. After you post something to your blog, go to AI (Huh! That’s an interesting coincidence!) and past your blog address in the box marked “Blog” (what else?) and click the button that says “Notify Readers About This Blog” and your site will then be in the viewing cycle until another one bumps you out. I have no idea how they handle preferences. All I do know is that my readership has increased dramatically in the past few days. I think it’s a great idea…actually, it’s brilliant.

  2. Nick said

    I’ve been using it for about a month, and I can say that it’s excellent for getting hits. I guess my concern is the quality of the hits that I’m receiving. A lot of the hits that are coming into my blog mainly hit only the first page. If I was interested in just getting people to look at my titles this would be great, but I’d rather think that they were coming for the content. Additionally, I find that I have no idea if I have any loyalty when I use alphainventions. I’d rather have loyalty than high traffic.
    ~Nick http://coffeemusing.wordpress.com/

  3. Jason said

    Nick I agree, I’ve seen a giant spike in one day, but that traffic isn’t reliable to show me what earns traffic and what doesn’t. I’m thinking eventually it will even out and then I can check differences after the original spikes are over.

  4. Jason said

    I ended up yesterday with 2,060 hits… Previously my top was 140. I’m over it. I would much rather focus on writing better posts than submitting my stuff to an auto-viewer.

    “If you build it they will come.”

Leave a Reply

 
