mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

The Crap I Have to Put Up With…

Posted by Jason on December 10, 2008

So today is the last day I will have my Trimester 1 students here at my ghetto little middle school. I told students this was the last day they had to finish their projects, since this is the last day they have me.

“YES!!!” one girl exclaims.

“Thank God…” someone else pipes up loudly.

“Finally! I’m so bored.”

“Good! This class sucks!”

No joke, these are some of the things students have said out loud today. I didn’t really retort back until 8th period, when I was sick of it. I actually told some of the kids I felt the same way and that I was sick and tired of them being so rude. Not like it taught them anything, but at least I stood up for myself? I’m questioning what good that little lecture has done. Not much, I’m guessing.

I don’t know why our district decided to make this trimester 15 weeks, the next one 11 weeks, and the next one 10 weeks. It’s pretty dumb, methinks. It’s put a big strain on how well I’ve managed to put up with some of these little buggers. Anyway, that’s a little bit of insight into the crap you put up with at an inner-city school on a daily basis. It might sound like I’m begging sympathy for getting treated like crap at work, but really I can’t knock it too much. It’s my job to put up with this stuff. It’s the school I’ve chosen to work at for the past 3 years. I get an ok salary and good benefits… It’s all good, most of the time.

Cmon, Christmas Break!!!

4 Responses to “The Crap I Have to Put Up With…”

  1. Brooke said

    Coming from a low socio-economic group is no excuse for poor manners! (I’m making the assumption most of them are from low socio-economic households.) It doesn’t cost anything to teach your child some basic manners. But you had to have learned them yourself first, generally, to be able to teach them.

  2. Jason said

    Yeah, that’s the big problem. And I feel like if I get on top of them for manners violations, my entire classtime would be lecturing and yelling at the kids. I really gotta pick my battles.

  3. Anonymous said

    When I was going to school in Scotland, we’d get the strap for behaving like that.

    We even got the strap for incorrect answers.

    All teachers had Lochgelly Specials. They were leather strips with fringes. A whack of that on your hand, made you take notice, but that was abolished in the 1970s I think.

    I have a reference to it in an old blog :http://blogs.salon.com/0002855/

    I’m not advocating this as a solution.

    It all comes down to pupils having respect. How do you teach that?

  4. Jason said

    I truthfully think that many students don’t realize that they are being rude. My students come from some pretty messed up homes a lot of times, where nobody gets listened to unless they are yelling. Or there’s like 8 kids at home and nobody pays attention to anybody. Kids can’t mince words with niceties or else they get interrupted. It’s partially cultural and its partially socioeconomic. But you can only have so many kind conversations letting kids know, “Little Bobby, that’s not how we talk in school. Little Susie, that was kind of a rude thing to say — it hurt my feelings…” You can let them know what’s appropriate, and then jump on them for disregarding that.

Leave a Reply

 
