mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

Ah, the Joys of Net Plagiarism

Posted by Jason on January 12, 2009

So it has been brought to my attention that my content has been copied verbatim and posted on another blog. Interestingly enough, it wasn’t even that great of a post that was copied. My little rant about people bitching about Obama’s choice for the (soon to be forgotten) inaugural prayer was not among my finest posts. Nevertheless, some schmuck decided to cut-and-paste my post into his own blog on blogspot. No props, no acknowledgment, no linkback, no nothing.

It shouldn’t be surprising that I’ve never been the “victim” of plagiarism before. It’s quite a different feeling. I’ve seen scores of examples of it on the internet, but it’s never been my stuff before. I mostly think to myself, “Wow this person is a loser. They can’t even write their own posts. They claim to have information, but it’s not new or different in any way from something else I just read.” And then I move on in my never-ending search for more information about this topic or that.

I did some research, and apparently the practice of “scraping” is quite common and there’s really nothing that can be done to prevent it. If you can read it you can steal it. However, once you’ve been scraped you can try to contact the webmasters and have them remove the content. Or you can try and contact the individual scraper (good luck with that). If the person is making money with Google Adsense, you can tell Google and they’ll stop paying the person. And then there’s legal action, which is never a certain win because the laws are kind of mucky and it’s a waste of money.

Anyway, I haven’t resolved what I’m going to do yet. I’ll probably try and contact the person once I get home from work. I don’t think I should be flattered, since the post was kind of dumb anyway. It’s not like my favorite work was copied and pawned off as someone else’s own work. Maybe I should find some crazy hacker to terrorize his site and harass him. Whatever… Any thoughts?

2 Responses to “Ah, the Joys of Net Plagiarism”

  1. layrenewal said

    I found a few of my postings on other sites but there always seems to be a trackback. (Some I’m glad to see out there – others not quite so much.) I guess I don’t really know how I’d find something if there wasn’t that element??

    Let me know what you do ’cause I’m curious if anything is worth pursuing just to make sure credit is a least given.

  2. Jason said

    Somebody just left a comment for me that one of my posts was on this guy’s site. Apparently the commenter’s fiancee had some stuff ripped off and the guy started googling pieces of the other posts and found mine. There is an app called CopyScape that will show you where your stuff pops up on the net. Apparently you have to pay for some part of their service but I didn’t really look at it that much.

    Good Luck…

Leave a Reply

 
