mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

The Worst Excuse Ever…

Posted by Jason on January 14, 2009

Keep in mind that most of my students live in giant apartment blocks within a half mile of my school. There is no bussing in our district so everyone has to walk or get a ride.

A girl walked in like 20 minutes late to 1st period.
“Where were you? Why are you late?”
“Well, teacher, the reason is I was late because I walked…”
“What? Everyone else here walks. They made it on time. Do you just walk really slow or something? Did you break your leg or something? Get here on time next time…”

As I write this, I’m realizing I sound like a jerk. Still, she just waltzes in and thinks that walking is a valid excuse? Gimme a break!

2 Responses to “The Worst Excuse Ever…”

  1. Nick said

    If it’s any consolation, I wish more people wouldn’t get away with being late. We’ve just kind of started excepting it now, and it shouldn’t be that way.

  2. What! She had to WALK?!?! The poor thing…is this America or Uganda? The child should have been carried to school on the arms of shirpas!

Leave a Reply

 
