mindGrazing

chewing ideas down to stubble, then moving on…

It’s been a while…

Posted by Jason on April 15, 2010

Yes, it’s been over a year since I last posted. Not that anyone reads this anymore, but here’s some updates just in case.

  • Bonsai trees have come and gone.
  • I’m still working at the same school teaching music, but I might become a cop pretty soon.
  • I’ve been enjoying playing second fiddle (guitar, actually) for a flamenco dance class on Monday nights.
  • I decided to not be so fat anymore and joined an MMA gym.
  • I’ve lost about 25 pounds at said gym, doing mostly Brazilian jiu-jitsu and I love it.
  • Wifey and I went to Spain for a week and a half.
  • Wifey’s sister and brother-in-law had their first baby boy and he’s amazing.
  • I’m most likely receiving a teaching grant from the local bonsai club to learn from the masters in the club so that eventually I can teach newbies to mutilate trees in the name of art πŸ˜‰

That might be about it, I think. Maybe I’ll start posting again, but maybe not. Give me some love if you have any questions/comments on my life’s work this past year.

Jason

4 Responses to “It’s been a while…”

  1. gflo said

    hi, could you tell me please what about your reaserch about don juan myth? still you are working i it?

  2. Jason said

    Hey Gflo, thanks for stopping by. I haven’t done too much more research lately, but your question has brought me to start doing some more searching. I found a couple articles/publications on archive.org regarding the myth (one of them is a 300+ page book on the origins of the legend. Needless to say that’s going to be a little while before I extract something from that.
    However, I did unearth a paper I had written about 5 years ago for a Lit class for a job application, and I found some interesting things. In my research, I found an article by John Bertolini that mentioned Jupiter as an antecedent of Don Juan. I’ve been able to access the first page of the article for free, and there’s a passing mention of the connection, but that’s about it.
    I was pretty surprised to read that I had already written about my grand revelation, but maybe it’s that my subconscious had been mulling it over for about 5 years and it took me this long to figure it out! Anyway, I’ll be working some more on this in the future, but I’m much more excited about some Spanish linguistic research I’ve been doing lately…

    Maybe I should turn this into a full post since it’s becoming quite a long comment!

  3. Kara R said

    Hi,

    I knew you about 4-5 years ago, you were one of my first guitar teachers and you’ve been my best guitar teacher yet!

    My name is Kara, I was in Mr Czajkowski’s first period guitar class when I was a senior at Bonita Vista Highschool. I had really long hair and was pretty shy, but if you could figure out how to make me talk you couldn’t shut me up.

    I wanted to ask you something, and I found your myspace page, but I can’t send you a message via myspace because I have to be a friend. Well, please e-mail at xxxxxxx@xxxxxxx.com.

    I hope to hear from you soon!

    Sincerely,
    Kara

  4. R1ckr011 said

    Actually it’s been over 3 years πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
